Posted by: stephaniesant11 | December 1, 2010

A life changing disease

For many who are diagnosed with scleroderma, it is a death sentence.  Many people will go on to live happy and healthy lives, but this is not the case for all.  While many will live long lives, their lives will certainly change.  This is a disfiguring disease that people will have to learn to live with.  Many will lose flexibility and mobility.  Yet, the people who receive this sentence still find ways to carry on.  These are the stories that inspire me.  The other day I watched a video that has inspired me to appreciate my life and live it to the fullest, enjoying all of the many gifts I have. 

These individuals, mostly women, are given this sentence, yet they find ways to be happy and carry on.  I also found a blog where a man details his life with scleroderma.  The way he maintains a positive attitude and lets us into his private life is so inspiring.  Scleroderma is a life changing disease.  It impacts mobility and flexibility.  However it does not have to change your life.  You can still live a happy positive life.  This stands true for all things we encounter in our lives.  It is all about attitude.  Scleroderma is a frightening disease, but it does not have to be a death sentence.  Let us conquer this disease and help relieve those suffering from its effects.

Its all about attitude!


Responses

  1. you mention it as a death sentence!? wow! i had no idea it was that serious!!!!

  2. I think it is so important you mention attitude–it really is the only way to make it through some things.

  3. interesting! thanks for sharing

  4. This blog reminds me of the quote “there is always always always something to be grateful for” I really look up to those who can stay positive no matter what they are going through.

  5. That is sad. Thanks for sharing.

  6. I am a firm believer in the importance of attitude and that positive thinking can really help someone heal quicker or live longer.

  7. It is inspiring to to hear of or know place faced with crippling diseases that never let it get them down. They obviously have such a great perspective on life and what matters most.

  8. This just seems like it would be so hard to live with. I honestly didn’t really know anything about this crippling disease before reading your blog, but now want to learn more and see what I can do to help.

  9. I think it is so important to look at life in a positive way, no matter what trials may come. This can’t be any easy disease, but living life happily is much better than weighing yourself down because you want others to pity you.

  10. I love stories of people who can push through their trials an continue to live their life.

  11. Thanks for this post. It is a great reminder that we are still in control of our minds, despite dealing with difficult health problems. Even though it can be extremely difficult, keeping a positive attitude can go a long way and I feel improve health a lot.

  12. It is inspiring to hear stories of people who are positive and happy in spite of hardship.

  13. It’s so awful that so many diseases are like death sentences. I can’t imagine life being too pleasant knowing that you’re days are so limited. I hope those who are diagnosed are able to enjoy their lives the best they can and make the most of their situation.


Leave a comment

Categories